As mascarpone cheese is made without rennet, it can be enjoyed by vegetarians who avoid that ingredient since it comes from by-products of veal production.
Rennet is used to curdle many types of cheese and dairy products.
However, for mascarpone, an acid is used, such as lemon juice which contains citric acid.
The cheese is used in various Lombardy dishes and is considered a speciality in that region.
It is one of the main ingredients in the modern Italian dessert known as tiramisu and at times used instead of, or along with, butter or Parmesan cheese to thicken and enrich risotto.